Guest blogger explains workings of dogs’ minds … – Pet Advice

10 May

Guest blogger explains workings of dogs’ minds …

WHY DOES HE DO THAT?!

Ever wish you could get inside your dog’s head and figure out why he does those things he does that drive you crazy? I sure have! Science hasn’t quite worked out how to get inside a dog’s head yet. Modern dog training techniques come pretty darned close though! Using the eye of a scientist, honing your skills for observation, you can figure out what makes your dog tick and how to bring out his best behavior. It’s all in the timing!

My name is Helix Fairweather and I have recently moved to Keizer. I’m supposed to be somewhat retired but I keep coming up with ways to apply my background to helping people understand their dogs and to better their relationships with their pets. My science background is in physics and astrophysics. My dog trainer background is in the science of operant conditioning, specifically clicker training. My on-the-job experience comes from my own dogs.

Maggie, resting at the Bridge, taught me how to work with extremely fearful dogs. She was the teacher that led me to clicker training – a unique and logical way to communicate to a dog, “that’s what I want, that right there, do that again”, by using a short, sharp sound to mark the instant of correct behavior.

via Guest blogger explains workings of dogs’ minds … – Pet Advice.

Leave a Reply

